Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-07-2011, 09:06 PM   #1

Cross Threaded Spark Plug

Was removing the spark plug, and during installation of new one, the threads got cross threaded. The spark plug is no longer tight, and when tightening, it keeps on turning without wanting to stop even though threads are all the way in. I have two options I can think of on top of my head right now:

a) I can either purchase a heli coil kit. I've never done it before but looks like a simple process according to youtube videos. Will cost around $30 - $40...

b) I can purchase a new cylinder head. Will cost $30 - $40....

Purchasing a new cylinder head looks like the best decision, unless there are cheaper options out there.

Old 05-08-2011, 12:12 AM   #2

repair

the helicoil is easier.. the head you have to replace which is more work... you can always do the repair of the sparkplug hole after to have a spare head.. I would think if your skills ( and luck ) are limited.. then change the head.. I guess it is a lesson learned about spark plugs.

Old 05-08-2011, 12:08 PM   #3

The trick with a thread insert is to get all of the schrapnel out, and it's tough to do. If there are any shavings left over from drilling and tapping, it could score the cylinder (less likely) or damage the piston (more likely). The only way I'd do a thread repair is to remove the head, in which case you might as well replace it. Is there a big bore kit that you can install while you're at it?

On the plus side of thread repair, a thread insert is a permanent fix that isn't likely to ever strip again. Also, look for Perma-coil, which is a little cheaper.

In the future, use a little anti-seize on the threads to help prevent cross threading, and always thread the plug in by hand until you're sure it's started.