Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-17-2008, 05:07 PM   #1

How do you load your 200cc by yourself?

I am new to motorcycling do not yet have my endorsement. I am signed up for a beginners class through a motorcycle safety and training program. I wanted to load up my Lifan into my Dodge ram 1500 by myself so I could go ride today out in the boonies and play with shifting, stopping, etc.

Well it looks kind of daunting, what are some methods other than riding it up which I am not willing to do.

Ive heard get a running start and push it up. I've also heard feather the clutch.

Old 08-17-2008, 05:25 PM   #2

Whatever you do, don't try to ride it up. Even if you could get up enough speed to go up a ramp, you wouldn't be able to stop quick enough in the truck bed. My brother once sold a motorcycle to a guy who said he was going to ride it up into the back of his truck, but after a couple of runs down the driveway decided to ride it home.

I'm not trying to be smart; the best system is to have 2 hefty guys to lift it into the bed. When I bought my bike, the dealer and another guy loaded it into my truck; when I got home, I called one of my sons and he and a buddy came over and lifted it off. That's the way to do it.

If you're going riding on trails, it's probably a good idea to take a buddy with you anyway. You and he should be able to lift it off and on.

Old 08-17-2008, 05:30 PM   #3

a good ramp makes it easy to load it yourself, i got a big thick board from a hardware store and an old skateboard cut in half and duct taped on, it actually works pretty well

you can also pick up really really nice aluminum ramps at lots of motorcycle shops

Old 08-17-2008, 05:37 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiGongJitsu