Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-30-2008, 05:27 PM   #1

I'm not an electrician

Hi All,

Quick question, after "reading" the wiring diagram it seems to me that the green wire running to the rear signal lights is the positive, is this correct?

I am hooking up my aftermarket flushmount signals which consist of two LED cab mount lights from Canadian Tire.

Thanks in advance.

Glenski

Old 07-30-2008, 06:03 PM   #2

go get a little cheapo tester light 5.00 usd. stick it on the connector if it lights up it is the pos if it dosent it is neg. also the ground earth or neg whichever you call it should be the same color on both signals. only difference is the pos connections

Old 07-30-2008, 06:03 PM   #3

Re: I'm not an electrician

Quote:
Originally Posted by glenski
Hi All,

Quick question, after "reading" the wiring diagram it seems to me that the green wire running to the rear signal lights is the positive, is this correct?

Thanks in advance.

Glenski
:!: STOP! :!:

Get your multimeter and see if the GREEN wire has continuity to ground. :idea: :idea: :idea:

I have a suspicion that your green wire is COMMON GROUND. You will be looking for a different color wire for the left and right positive wires...for instance, orange for left and sky-blue for right.

It would be helpful to have your make and model in the post. I'm sure someone has "been there" and can help you more.

Good luck,
Tigertamer

CAUTION
Obey The Traffic Regulation.
Always Wear a Helmet.
Don't Ride After Drinking Wine.
Before Operation, Read The Owners Manual Carefully.

Old 07-30-2008, 07:55 PM   #4

It is an 06 Lifan GY5 if that helps.

Old 07-30-2008, 10:12 PM   #5

Yes your green is common ground. The RH pos is Sb sky blue...and the LH pos is O orange.

Tap into the connection under the seat if you can.

If you want I can send you some pics of a typical LED mod 8O

:idea: :idea: :idea:
Tigertamer