Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-30-2021, 05:16 PM   #1

Head Scratching 2021 TBR7 Pre-First Start Oil Dirty-Shavings On Drain Plug Magnet

My 2021 TBR7 arrived on a pallet, in a crate earlier this month. It was, of course, unassembled, so I'm almost certain it hasn't been started for the first time yet.
TBR7s come with a very cheap, magnetic drain plug now and the magnet was full of black shavings.
The pre-first start oil seemed dirty also. Not like the crystal clear shipping oil in Collin at 3 Petal Devils' video. I'm a noob so any input/advice is much appreciated

Old 10-30-2021, 06:46 PM   #2

Here is a good thread on it I wish I had seen before I got my bikes. I would modify what I said to include changing the oil before it is ever started and again after 5 minutes etc, etc. Some would consider it overkill but buy a gallon of Rotella and have at it however it makes you feel good. Breaking in an engine has to feel good.

http://www.chinariders.net/showthrea...les#post359902

Old 10-30-2021, 09:11 PM   #3

Changed before start up, then ran for 1/2 hour. Then 100 miles,then every 300 miles after that. 1100 miles and loving this TBR7

Old 10-31-2021, 10:21 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by buzz View Post
Changed before start up, then ran for 1/2 hour. Then 100 miles,then every 300 miles after that. 1100 miles and loving this TBR7
Overkill.

Old 10-31-2021, 01:12 PM   #5

Come to think of it , Collin at 3 Pedal Devils did say he was expecting to see it much worse. Either way, I sure appreciate all of you guys' insight. I won't get through this without it that's for sure. Thank y'all.

Old 11-01-2021, 05:15 AM   #6

Remember, there will be a certain amount of steel shavings mainly from the transmission parts as they wear in.

Old 11-01-2021, 08:27 AM   #7

That's true. Thanks.

Old 11-01-2021, 07:17 PM   #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aufgeblassen View Post