Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 01-10-2021, 12:51 PM   #1

New to Chinese machines

Hello, I am new to this whole Chinese ATV world. I recently purchased a Tao 110cc for my 8 year old son and a Tao Rhino 250cc for myself so we can ride around together. I have been seeing a lot about upgrading CDI boxes, carbs, sprockets and adding wheel extenders. While we are waiting for the ATVS's to be delivered which will probably take 2 months I'm assuming, I just wanted to figure out what I should look into doing to the ATV'S once they come in since I will have to order these parts. Any input would be appreciated.

Old 01-10-2021, 09:17 PM   #2

Adjust the valves before you even start them. Other than that, make sure everything is tight and enjoy the heck out of them.

Old 02-01-2021, 06:06 PM   #3

I bought air/gas filled shocks from ebay, i have different atvs than you so the part numbers won't help you but one thing consistent is these ATVs have rock hard coilovers from the factory.
I did a NGK spark
I tried to go 1 tooth smaller on the crank sprocket (From 12T to 11T) on my Apollo Blazer9.
I bought a wider handle bar for kids quad for easier turning.
I tried a new carb for Blazer9, avoid the knock-off Mikuni's they suck as bad as the OEM. Try a Nibbi carb.
2" wheel spacers for the rear
And no after all these mods you still won't come close to spending as much as a new Polaris or Japanese bike!

Old 02-01-2021, 08:45 PM   #4

Also, Don't assume because the castle nut came with a cotter pin that the bolt is tight. It's likely not. When you check the bolts, remove the cotter pins also and tighten the castle nuts.

-J

Old 02-02-2021, 01:46 PM   #5

shipping