Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pit/Pocket Bikes & Scooters
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-11-2008, 10:09 AM   #1

Pit bike question

I am new to pit-bikes , obviously .

My question is :

What is acceptable chain rubb on the swingarm guide with the bike standing alone with no rider on ? My Beast Build bike chain doesn't touch the guard at all while standing alone . I have seen bikes on the internet where they not only touch the swingarm guard, but they appear to have quite a significant bend in the chain , looks to be a couple inches ? I understand when you mount the bike, most of that disappears , but , when you jump its going to ride that guard singnificantly too .
I want to raise the hieght of the rear end of my bike a bit , but I am not really into getting taller shocks , because this makes the chain rubb the guard even more . I am thinking of going as high as I can with the suspension as it is, then possibly welding up the rear-end of the frame to gain the hight I need . Basically re-fabricating the tail section up two inches instead of making that swingarm pivot extremely hard and rubbing the guard so heavilly . Being new to pit-bikes , what do you think they should look like sitting alone without rider ? Do they all touch the guard on the swingarm, and is a little bend in the chain ok ? I am used to full size dirtbikes and they don't have this issue . I want as little rubb on that guard as possible is my thinking ?????
Any ideas would be appreciated here , I just don't know about these bikes ?
Thanks , sincerely, Kelly5150

Old 04-12-2008, 06:30 PM   #2

Well ?