Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-11-2007, 03:51 PM   #1

Complete Newbie from Los Angeles, please help!

Hello all! I've been looking through the forums and I've decided to buy a Chinese Enduro style bike. I'm a full-time student and worker so I'm strapped for cash and these seem like a perfect solution.
You guys all seem so helpful, so I was wondering if you could give me some advice.
Since I live in California, I can only register a DOT approved bike (I think). I was trying to get a Lifan from motoxtreme.net, but I was told that they can't be shipped to California.
So, I am wondering where I can buy a RELIABLE bike from a RELIABLE dealer with a good shipping situation. I've been looking at the Shinerays and Hi-Birds but from what people are saying they don't seem as high-quality as Lifans.
I really appreciate any help you guys can give me. Thank you so much!

Old 10-11-2007, 04:13 PM   #2

Also, I will be using the bike primarily to commute with no trails involved. Do you guys know of any better commuting options? Or maybe I should just go with the Shineray?

Old 10-11-2007, 04:42 PM   #3

Ironically, Lifan is one of the few 49 state DOT/EPA China bikes, and even those cannot be registered in Calif! Jetmoto has green-sticker approval, so you could theoretically buy one, but no guarantee to register it :? UM (formerly United Motors) has the only registerable Chinese enduro, but costs twice (or more) as much as the majority of these bikes costs. However, they are still cheaper than the Japanese competition, and do come with a killer warranty. Can't remember the name, but there is a dealer in Chatsworth--check the UM site for them and others.

That being said, there are some Chinese enduros that have been registered successfully. Perhaps it is still possible, or maybe the loopholes have closed. Someone posted this about California recently: