Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-05-2009, 04:02 PM   #1

Giovanni/Gio Beast 200 question/china quads question

Old 03-05-2009, 09:09 PM   #2

We just bought 2.
The first is here, and we've been using it for about a week.
Its does not like the cold. It runs rich on idle, goes lean on transition, and stalls. In todays weather, 0 - +5, it ran fine.
I am not a quad guy, and have almost no quad experience, so as far as capability compared to Other quads, I can't help you. My son has some experience, and seems to really like it.
I am a mechanic, and to me, it looks to be fairly well built.
It has the pushrod motor, which runs well. When we assembled it, it fired withing 1.5 seconds, and idled perfectly.
If you would like me to take any detail pics of ours, just let me know.
Mine is due to arrive any time now, so I can get good pics disassembled.
Customer service has been good. The gas cap leaks, and they have agreed to send a new one at no charge. It looks to be money well spent.

Old 03-05-2009, 09:13 PM   #3

My Lifan didn't like the cold much when I bought it either (a rejet helped that) so I wouldn't expect these quads to be much different. I am assuming they have pretty much identical engines and carbs. That's interesting to hear they are still using the pushrod engine in them. Are they counterbalanced?

How long did it take you to assemble them (I assume you bought the Gio)?

Old 03-05-2009, 09:17 PM   #4

http://www.chinariders.net/modules.p...ewtopic&t=6982

I have no idea if its counterbalanced. To be honest, I didn't look too cloesly at it. It has a Kai hin carb, probably the same as your bike.
The light/horn switch is probably the same as your GY. The turn signal switch is used as the kill button
It took us (I made my son do most of the assembly) a few leisurely hours.
If you think its the same carb, what jetting did you use?

Old 03-05-2009, 09:23 PM   #5