Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pure Dirt
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-12-2008, 05:14 AM   #1

2008 GIO X35 - Opinions?

Hi China Riders,

I just posted in the introduce me section but also thought I would expand here since I expect I might get more feedback from the experts here who may not be surfing the hello world section.

I'm a newbie rider, always wanted to rip around on a dirt bike, but never have. I'm not a small guy, (6'6 260lbs) and I'm venturing into the world of dirtbikes. I have a mechanical background, but not in bikes. I was a car engine rebuilder for 13 years, (mainly a crankshaft grinder). I've ground shafts for lawn mowers, pumps, race cars and diesel trucks and tractors.

I'm interested in the GIO X35, the new one with the Loncin OH engine. I'm curious to your thoughts on how you'd think this bike would hold up for someone my size, power and reliability wise.

I'm also curious about the seller, being mail order. www.giovannibikes.com and I do believe he is allstarsalez on ebay.

Here is the link to the bike and sellers page.

Thanks for your input.

http://www.giovannibikes.com/Dirt-Bi...oductInfo.aspx

Old 09-12-2008, 04:51 PM   #2

That looks like a good bike. If it truly has showa forks and a mikuni carb. the 17/60 sprockets should give it fairly low gearing. Top speed about 50-60mph.

Allen

Old 09-12-2008, 09:10 PM   #3

I have seen it in person...it is a nice bike. The only concern I had is the front forks, they don't seem to have much travel. My bike has the exact same engine (loncin OH cam), it's got lots of power, starts easy, runs and shifts smooth.
My brother is the same size as you and has ridden my bike plenty of times and it has more than enough power for him. This is the bike I have:
http://pocketrocket99.tripod.com/id28.html
(some of the pics show the zongshen engine, but it does ship with the Loncin)

Old 09-12-2008, 11:31 PM   #4