Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pit/Pocket Bikes & Scooters
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-23-2021, 10:53 PM   #1

new speedo fuel gauge flashes

so i got a new aftermarket speedometer,
1. because the stock one couldnt be calibrated.
2. i didnt like the look of it.
3. this one looks better and seems like it will actually tell me the correct speed.
i got this https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
and after doing the correct pin placement im left with a flashing fuel gauge. i know the sender works because when i plug the stock speedo on it works. im working on tracing the wires from the sender through the loom but wondering if anyone has an idea of what the issue can be? the speedo paperwork says it can calibrate from 2 or 3 fuel lines but 2 is default. i found that info a bit odd but im not a motorcycle mechanic. tried both settings and nothing. i have a fuel wire and then i have this unaccounted for and unknown position wire. the 4 gears and neutral are on their own block and the speed sensor wires are on their own block. worst comes to worst i'll hard wire every wire into it just to get this beauty to work fully.

Old 04-24-2021, 12:53 AM   #2

I have the same gauge on my Bashan BSR 250. It uses a 2 wire sender unit. There should be a Blue / White wire on the 9 pin connector from the gauge. It has a +5vdc power out. This goes to the fuel sender wire from your tank. The other wire from your tank will be ground. The sender uses a wire wound resistor for voltage sensing related to fuel level. At full tank the voltage should be 0.41vdc @ 9 ohms. Empty tank should be 2.42vdc @ 96.6 ohms. Use a Volt Ohm Meter to check fuel sender ohms to make sure the resistance matches what the gauge needs. Hope this helps.

Old 04-24-2021, 01:35 AM   #3

Digital Gauge Fuel Sender

Notes......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg A_A_Bashan BSR 250_Digital Gauge_Fuel Sender Settings_1.jpg (152.4 KB, 129 views)