Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-20-2020, 08:09 PM   #1

Doh! Lifan X-pect 200 Help

Hey,
So I'm new to motorcycles. Never built or worked on one before. Closest experience I have is working on mountain bikes and guitar electronics.

My Lifan X-Pect came in the mail today. Got it set up. Bars are on with all the junk that attaches to them. The battery is hooked up under the seat. I put the key in and turn it to the "on" position and nothing happens. If I use the kick-start, the electronics come on for a second.

I do not yet have gas in the bike and I have not switched the Chinese oil for break-in oil.

Is it as simple as putting gas in the bike, or have I set something up wrong?

Thanks!

Old 10-20-2020, 08:18 PM   #2

Did you charge the battery ?

Old 10-20-2020, 10:18 PM   #3

Wow. Is it that simple? See? This is how new I am.

So I need a charger? or can I use an electric generator/car jumper?

Old 10-20-2020, 10:27 PM   #4

You should use a very low amp (like 1.5 or 2 amp ) charger .Did the battery come with a container of acid ?you need to fill the battery with that first if it did and you didn’t already fill it .

Old 10-21-2020, 12:01 AM   #5

If you did not have to fill the acid in the battery (Lifan is a slight 'cut' above most brands, so might have an acid-free battery you don't have to fill up), or charge it, it could be as simple as the kill switch on the right side of the handlebars being pushed in. TOTAL newby thing having it pushed in and not realizing it. No way would I do anything like that a mere few years ago after having ridden motorcycles for over 20 years. Not me!

But yes, check the switch...

TGB Delivery Scooter 150
TMEC 200 Enduro--carcass is sadly rotting in the backyard

Old 10-21-2020, 01:46 PM   #6