Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > General > Dealer & Distributor Discussion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-16-2013, 10:23 PM   #1

Head Scratching how to make a china bike street legal

hi im new to china riders and i have a queston. i bought a 2007 tms200gy dual sport to hang on the back of my 5th wheel when we travel. the bike was registerd in the state of washington and had a plate and was street legal, well anyway my problem is i live in oregon, i went to my DMV to change the title and get it plated for oregon, but oregon dmv said its a off road bike not street legal in oregon, after talking to the lady at dmv i can make it legal if can get a letter from the manufacture stating it meets the safety & epa standards for the US. long story sorry, anyone know how to find the maker of this bike, the title says tms and thats all. thanks

Old 09-17-2013, 12:53 AM   #2

What a nuisance! If it was registered in WA, how can they deny you in OR?

Is there a work-around? Perhaps you can just have it inspected, and they'll issue a State VIN. Have you tried a different DMV?

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 09-17-2013, 08:00 AM   #3

Look for a label on the swingarm. It should be about 2x4 inches and most likely a black background. I think that is the meets "epa" and "fmvss" label.

I am surprised. If they deny the WA title then the Vermont route may not work for you. You could also just register it in Vermont. See the sticky in the Registration forum.

Old 09-17-2013, 10:36 PM   #4

TMS I believe is T-Motorsports out of Chino, Cal. They used to re-label Lifan bikes as their own brand, among others. Hooper Imports coincidentally out of Washington is now the one importer of Lifan parts since Lifan left the US a couple years ago.