Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > General > Off-Topic/General Discussion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-10-2010, 07:21 PM   #1

Location: Wheeling, WV native currently living In Natchitoches, LA
Send a message via AIM to BrianW
Learning to weld.

I want to learn how. I don't expect to be a professional or make money doing it. I just want to be able to make, fix, and/or fabricate things at will. Maybe the occasional exhaust repair on the ol' Subaru. When I do a quick Google search, the amount of information that comes up is overwhelming.

Old 12-10-2010, 08:56 PM   #2

I took a great non certification course at my local adult technical center...check out continuting ed in your area.

Old 12-10-2010, 11:18 PM   #3

I think I'd like to learn to, I've done a bit, but my dad or brother have always set the welder up so I just kind of point and shoot, I need more practice, and knowledge.

Old 12-10-2010, 11:37 PM   #4

This would be my hot button.

I'm no professional, just a hack. Turns out, you don't have to be a good weldor, just a good grinder.

A MIG is your friend. If you can fog a mirror, you can MIG weld. I bought the Haynes welding manual and read it cover to cover. It covers all processes and includes plasma torches.

Buy a machine that has infinitely variable voltage control, vs a machine with four, five or six voltage selections. As an example, Miller and Hobart are the same company with virtually identical machines in the entry level, but the Hobart only offers six voltage settings. Not ideal.

If I was buying a 110 machine today, it would be this: http://www.eastwood.com/mig-welder-1...5a-output.html

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 12-10-2010, 11:40 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weldangrind
Turns out, you don't have to be a good weldor, just a good grinder.

Old 12-11-2010, 01:01 AM   #6