ChinaRiders Forums

ChinaRiders Forums (http://www.chinariders.net/index.php)
-   Zongshen RX3 (http://www.chinariders.net/forumdisplay.php?f=136)
-   -   Has anyone replaced the air filter housing with a pod filter? (http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=30323)

ChopperCharles 02-09-2022 11:31 AM

Has anyone replaced the air filter housing with a pod filter?

I'm a heavy guy and I have a knobby on the rear wheel, which means the tire bottoms out on the airbox. I'm wondering if I can't fix this by removing the airbox and replacing it with a UNI foam "pod" filter. Has anyone attempted this before?

Would it reduce or increase the intake noise that reverbs between the rider and the windshield?

Charles.

65cabriolet 02-09-2022 12:49 PM

I assume you've already maxed out your pre-load on the rear shock?

ChopperCharles 02-09-2022 05:52 PM

Yup. It's fine for the street, but not so much for off-road.

Charles.

Oddball Matt 02-09-2022 05:59 PM

I have no experience with this particular bike but plenty of others and of cone filter conversions; intake noise is the least of your problems as it will totally throw off your fueling. It CAN be made to work but expect a lot of fiddling with your carb settings, needle positioning, main and idle jetting changes etc

Working_ZS 02-09-2022 07:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oddball Matt (Post 372356)
I have no experience with this particular bike but plenty of others and of cone filter conversions; intake noise is the least of your problems as it will totally throw off your fueling. It CAN be made to work but expect a lot of fiddling with your carb settings, needle positioning, main and idle jetting changes etc

No need for any of that with the RX3, since it's fuel injected.

Lukas 02-10-2022 05:12 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I have the same problem as you charlie, that's why I ordered this shock and will see if it will come on, because I don't see any other solution.

Oddball Matt 02-11-2022 03:31 AM

Quote: