Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-16-2018, 03:48 PM   #1

New Riders pick Chondas?

How many of you are like me and got the chinese bike to start with and had no or low experience with bikes?

I've had A lot of experience with ATVs but this is my first bike.

Old 04-17-2018, 11:42 AM   #2

I had considerable experience with bikes. I got into China stuff due to the prohibitive cost of getting my kids into Hondas. I had my wife on a 150cc ATV, my daughter on a 50cc ATV, my son on a 50cc pit bike and me on an old Suzuki PE175. We were all out there having a great time for less than the cost of one new Honda. That's where the addiction began...

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 04-17-2018, 01:19 PM   #3

I had street bikes. Wanted a duel sport for years and didn't want to pay the big money for a Japanese bike. Going to sell the street bikes now. This duel sport will do fine for what I want to do.

Old 04-17-2018, 01:40 PM   #4

I grew up with bikes. Dad owned a Vespa shop, uncle owned one too. I was a motorcycle mechanic for many years, and surely have over 500,000 miles on two wheels. Didn't know much about Chinese bikes when I bought my Lifan 200 in 2007 but it quickly grew on me and I've come to love the CG engines.

Old 04-17-2018, 04:21 PM   #5

I've had bikes my whole life and used to race MX locally. Street bikes for school and summer jobs. Then, I got older, didn't ride near as aggressively as I used to, had a life full of expensive responsibilities (read X-wife and all that comes with that...) but still wanted to get out on a trail once in a while and putt around on something i could afford.
The CB was the ticket. Reliable, light, fun and I can work on it.

2007 Suzuki DRZ400S (SM convert)
2009 Q Link XP 200
1967 BSA B25 250cc Starfire