Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-05-2023, 10:39 AM   #1

Templar X Exhaust De-Cat

Planning to de-cat the Templar X exhaust.. fam got me a Harbor Freight Flux welder but it says not for stainless steel.. im a total newb with regard to welding and would have to do some research before even using it but before i waste time on it and cause a potential mess, can anyone confirm whether it would or would not work to weld the exhaust back together after its uncorked, thanks

https://www.harborfreight.com/weldin...der-57798.html

Former China Bikes: Tao DBX1, Brozz 250, CSC RX4, Titan DLX, Templar X

Old 05-05-2023, 10:54 AM   #2

I have welded stainless with steel wire with my mig welder. Only thing is it will rust but didn't matter for what i was doing. I haven't tried it with the flux core wire but thing it is possible.
2020 Kawasaki Vulcan S
2004 Honda ST 1300
2016 Black Hawk 250 (sold)
Keihin PE30 carb,125 main,38 slow.Pod filter,ported & decked head 10:1 CR,Direct Ignition Coil,15/40Sprockets,NGK DPR8EIX-9,De-Cat,Dual Oil Cooler,Digital Cluster
2016 Cazador180 XL
2014 Coolster150
JerryHawk250.com
My YouTube Channel

Old 05-05-2023, 12:12 PM   #3

The biggest issue with welding stainless with mild steel wire is the weld joint itself is more prone to corrosion issues, both during the weld if no shielding gas is used, especially on the back side of the joint. This mainly applies to 300 grade stainless, and it does something called sugaring when welded and not shielded. Flux core may stop some of this on the weld side, but likely it will still happen. This creates a weaker weld on its own. Then, as Jerry mentioned, that weld will also rust easily compared to the rest of the system.