Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-03-2020, 01:27 AM   #1

Head Scratching Tbr7 question

I'm new to the Chinese bikes and have narrowed it down to 2 bikes the tbr7 (leaning heavily towards) and the hawk 250. I feel like I see this alot so I apologize for asking it but could not find the exact answer/opinion to my questions. I am just about 6ft and about 220lbs and will primarily be doing street riding (hence leaning toward the tbr7) but I was wondering if the height of tbr7 would be better or worse for me than the hawk 250. Also my main concern is I feel like I see people say the hawk 250 is more reliable, if that is the case i am wondering if I should just get the hawk and put more street 50/50 tires one it?
Thanks for the help, and again apologizes on the new person type question!

Old 05-03-2020, 01:55 AM   #2

Just consider them more or less the same. The TBR7 is just a Hawk with smaller wheels and tires on it. The Hawk has a few small advantages, such as using an H4 headlight, the 18/21 inch wheels are easier to find many tire options for vs. the TBR7's 17/19 setup has fewer options.

I wouldn't say that the Hawk is more reliable per se. It is definitely more proven since it has been around longer and there are tons of owners here, myself included, that have seen pretty much all of the faults and worked out fixes for them.

The TBR7 and Hawk are close to the same as far as rider positioning, but the Hawk does have a higher seat height due to its larger wheels and tires mainly. Both will likely fit you close to the same, with the Hawk possibly making you tippy toe a bit more.