Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Adventure Bikes > Zongshen RX3
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-22-2015, 02:41 PM   #1

Zongshen RX3: The Official Oil Thread

Hi Forum
Brand new to the RX3 club.
I am a newbie to "techy" and diy maintenance of bikes. Wanted to learn so RX3 with the CSC and support groups like this one here, seemed like the perfect combo for joining up with you guys.

Time for the first oil change will be coming up soon. Been reading up this and the other forums. I must admit i am getting confused with WHICH oil to use.

My local walmart has the Valvoline 10-40W mineral oil with picture of a motorbike on it though the guy there could not confirm if it is SG/Friction inhibitor FREE.

Saw the following where it is recommended to use Rotella T range from Shell. Primarily marketed as a diesel oil, for the break in period.http://www.rx3adventure.com/rx3_oil_change.html

Would appreciate if you guys can tell me;
1) which brand to pick up from my local walmart / samsclub and
2) should i go with CSC recommendations of 200 miles and then the 500 (or was it 1000) mile mark for the break-in oil changes with mineral oil and then switch to synthetic oil (and if yes, which brand name i.e. with no Friction inhibitors)
or go with the 50/100 mile and then 200 mile mark change and then the 1000 mile mark change.

There is LOT of information on oil change and i find myself getting a little confused. But then i am newbie to maintaining my own bike so that is to be expected

Thanks in advance folks and Happy Holidays

Old 12-22-2015, 03:03 PM   #2

I'm pretty sure any 10W/40 motor oil does not contain friction inhibitors. Examine the bottle. If the following symbol is absent, the oil will work fine with your motorcycle's clutch.