Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-28-2009, 09:01 AM   #1

Chinabike ATV?

Hey everyone, Just a newbie here
Im considering buying my first chinese made ATV
I've been riding a while now, Riding Yamahas and a Honda at one stage.
But now I want a little ATV as a project bike, To toy around with.
Because this bike is gonna be tinkered with alot, and modded, Im not gonna go out and buy a $3000+ Big brand quad Used.

Im from Australia BTW and was wondering if anyone had seen or heard of this Quad
It comes with a Loncin 125cc engine, 3 spd Semi automatic trans including Reverse, 800ml oil capacity, 3 litre petrol tank, Electric start all that jazz.

Anyone ever used a loncin motor before? any good? Powerwise? reliable?
any must do upgrades before anything?

Thanks in Advance

Old 06-28-2009, 12:30 PM   #2

There's a post somewhere on here by "TheRealWorld" I believe, which gives a lot of details about the Loncin motors. I believe they are Yamaha clones. I have a 300cc Loncin (liquid cooled) in my Taotao utility ATV- only had it a few months so far, so I can't give an opinion as to longevity yet....but in general, most of these better Chinese clone engines are based on the good old reliable Jap engines. Good old simple technology- and are usually quite bulletproof.

I have no worries about Loncin or Lifan motors.

The things you do have to worry about, are: The auto tranny (the Chinese manual trannys are pretty good- I've heard that the autos can fail ...especially if lugging around an adult). Probably O-K for little kids...may be iffy for adults.

The primary thing to look at on these Chinese ATVs are the electrical system and the frames/suspension. The quality on those components can vary wildly from one manufacturer to another.

The electrical system on my Taotao is a nightmare...literally falling apart from the day I got it(new). Thin wires and weak connections.