Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Media/Reviews/Classifieds/Sponsors > Reviews
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-30-2011, 03:36 PM   #1

Oxford Grip Heaterz on a KLR650

Hmmm... Just realized I've never done an install review before, bear with me and hopefully this is at least a little informative .

I mail ordered a set of Oxford Grip Heaterz a week or so ago, temps in the morning here are hovering around +2 Celsius (or about 35 Fahrenheit). My jacket and such keep me fairly comfortable, but my hands get cold so I thought I would try a set of grip heaters to see if it makes my commute more comfortable.

I bought my grips from A Vicious Cycle in Ontario. Great outfit and super fast shipping. I believe these grips can be bought locally at motorcycle shops as well but I prefer mail order unless I'm in a real rush. They were around $85 Canadian, with GST and shipping they came out to about $104. I chose the "waffle" design as they had serrated grips and I thought that would be better (less slippery) if they got wet or muddy. On hindsight though, the rubber is pretty tacky so I think the "standard" smooth grips would have been fine too. The waffle ones come in a box marked up for sport bikes. The ones I ordered were for 7/8 inch handlebars.

When I unpacked the box it contained:
1) The heated grips, one larger diameter for the throttle tube.

2) A small bracket designed to hold the control module on the clutch mount. (I couldn't use this because my enricher lever is there)

3) 4 small zip ties (super cheap, 2 broke!) 8O

4) 2 self adhesive pads for dash mounting the control module and control (?) box

5) A wiring loom with connectors to go from the control box to the grip wires. All have clip together connectors.

6) Instructions

7) Super glue

Heres the wiring diagram in a nutshell showing the boxes and how they connect.