Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > General > Dealer & Distributor Discussion
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-31-2022, 07:29 AM   #1

Question Importing different models

Hello,
Newbie here, hopefully this is the right place to ask.
I've noticed that while there is a wide selection of Chinese bike makes and models available in the US, some models seem to be completely absent from the market here.

Specifically, these 2 types:
  • Honda CG125 clones
  • Honda Wave or modern Cub clones
Whenever I go look at almost any Chinese manufacturer's website, these 2 kinds of bikes are pretty much always available but they seem to be completely overlooked by importers.
I'm really interested in finding out why this is, because I would love to buy these 2 types of bikes.
They are the most popular types of bikes pretty much all over the world.

My gut feeling tells me it has to do with DOT/EPA compliance of these, but I see so many other bikes that are available, mad dogs, trikes, all sorts of oddballs, it surely can't be impossible.

I've spent many hours looking for these on US dealer sites, so if you know someone who imports these, please send me a message.

Old 12-31-2022, 08:42 AM   #2

The manufacturers have crunched the numbers and decided which models are worth bringing into compliance, and which are not, in terms of sales/profits.
1969 Honda CT90--The Tomahto
Cheesy is the WDK (workplace drama king). Now retired. Nope, back in the saddle.
Climate: The Movie https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A24fWmNA6lM
How our government really works https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjadCd0VRBw
Question all authority.....think for yourself

Old 12-31-2022, 09:18 AM   #3

So it's not the importers who decide that, but the manufacturers?
I thought the chinese manufacturers will pretty much make whatever you ask of them, as long as you are willing to pay for it.