Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Pure Dirt
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-14-2010, 11:28 AM   #1

200cc 200XYI (TMS) - Change the color of the body?

Hi experts,

I have a very simple request. I have a 200XYI (TMS) DB that is White/Blue body. I removed all the stickers but I really like black dirt bike color. I was wondering if there is some modeling paint that can be used on these plastic bodies to make it black. I can't seem to find a kit that would match the bike or don't really know what to look for when searching for one. I just wanted to know if anyone might have changed the original look of any of there dirt bike plastic bodies before on these bikes. If this go against the chinarider bike riding 101 forgive me!

Old 06-14-2010, 11:35 AM   #2

I'm not an expert.

Perhaps Spud will chime in, but I think he's had good luck with Krylon Fusion on plastics. Whatever you choose to do, it's not recommended that you try and paint a plastic tank; it lasts about a week.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 06-14-2010, 11:41 AM   #3

Thanks again Weldangrind, I wouldn't use regular paint. I should have been a little more detailed in my question ! It should have read something like

" If there is a special kind of paint that can be used to change the color of the plastic body kit "

That's my fault

Old 06-14-2010, 11:45 AM   #4

Whoops I think I miss read your information..

<Whatever you choose to do, it's not recommended that you try and paint a plastic tank; it lasts about a week.>>

Are you refering to the gas tank? I should leave that the same.. I think it's black anyway

Old 06-14-2010, 11:52 AM   #5