Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-09-2021, 01:49 PM   #1

TaoTao Battery

HI Everyone.

Totally new to the Forum. Excited to be here. I am new to working on Motorcycles, but happy to get involved and learn everything I can.

I am riding a Brand new TBR7, I have been riding it for about 4 weeks.

I noticed recently that the electric start was getting weaker. I suspected that the battery was losing power. Last night it finally stopped having enough juice to crank the motor. I am going to get a trickle charger tonight, and recharge it.

A few questions, I have been looking and have not understood enough to research existing posts to find my answer, maybe I am not wording it right.

1. With Cars, while you are operating it, the alternator charges the battery.. is is the same with these Motorcyles? Should I expect that the battery is receiving a charge while the motor is running? Or is it different?

2. Should I be setting it up on trickle charge when I am not riding it? If so, that means I would need to pull the side panel off everytime. I am open to thoughts. I lack understanding on this issue.

Thank you in advance, and I am excited to get involved and share my experience with others as I learn as well.

Jason Coyote

Old 07-09-2021, 02:27 PM   #2

The battery will charge will the bike is running just like an automobile. It could be a number of things. First thing to do is check with a multi meter that it is putting out voltage to the battery while running. Check the voltage on the battery while not running then check it while running. Voltage output should be higher while running.
Check connectors coming from the stator and voltage regulator have the pins pushed in all the way. I've had a couple on my Hawk that weren't set in all the way and would occasionally cut out.
Check all cables from the battery are tight and making good contact. Especially the ground.