Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Adventure Bikes > Zongshen RX3
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-18-2018, 04:32 PM   #1

Rear brake issue

I am having an issue with my rear brakes. When I press the brake pedal, it feels like nothing happens. If I stand on it, I get a little bit of engagement but not much at all. However, if I pump the brakes 2 to 3 times, it works as it should.

My brakes were working just fine until I removed my rear wheel and put it back on after changing the tire. It looks like I put everything back where it belongs – I can’t visually see what the issue is, but I can’t ignore the timing of this issue presenting itself right after I took the wheel off and put it back on again.

I already tried adjusting the brake at the lever – didn’t help anything.
Any thoughts here? It might be something easy – I am new to wrenching on bikes. Any guidance you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Old 12-18-2018, 05:21 PM   #2

Have you tried bleeding the brake system?
2020 Kawasaki Vulcan S
2004 Honda ST 1300
2016 Black Hawk 250 (sold)
Keihin PE30 carb,125 main,38 slow.Pod filter,ported & decked head 10:1 CR,Direct Ignition Coil,15/40Sprockets,NGK DPR8EIX-9,De-Cat,Dual Oil Cooler,Digital Cluster
2016 Cazador180 XL
2014 Coolster150
JerryHawk250.com
My YouTube Channel

Old 12-18-2018, 05:34 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryHawk250 View Post
Have you tried bleeding the brake system?
No. I hadn't thought to do it as the bike only has 400 miles on it - was working fine and I noticed no leaks or anything like that. Not sure what would have happened to need a bleed at this point, but I suppose it's worth a try.

Old 12-18-2018, 05:39 PM   #4