Originally Posted by Clueless
Just got a gio 250. Will not run. First started and would idle
about6-7 seconds. Adjuted idle and now bike will start and stall
right away? I am no mechanic and have no idea what the
problem is. Can anyone help.
You using the choke?

Old 06-08-2010, 03:10 AM   #3

Welcome!

Are you using the original spark plug? If so, go buy an NGK.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 06-08-2010, 03:15 PM   #4

I am using the choke and strangly enough it will only start with the choke off, also yes original plug / I thought the Gio site said they are shipped with NGK plugs?

Old 06-08-2010, 03:43 PM   #5

Do you happen to know the NGK plug #

Old 06-08-2010, 04:10 PM   #6

This would be very useful, I also need to know the NGK plug #. Also what kind of oil would you reccomend for breaking in these bikes, and do they really require 94 octane or can I just use 91 octane premium in them? Thanks very much for your time.

Old 06-08-2010, 08:56 PM   #7

I'm not sure if the plug is the same as the 200cc models so I'll let someone else confirm that.

You should use a regular 10-40 motorcycle oil for wet clutches. A castrol 10-40 for example sold at Wally Mart.

You should be fine with 91/92 octane gas. It'll run on 87 but it's happier with more octane.

I think you might need to adjust your mixture screws in the carb a bit more...but I'd start with the correct plug when someone chimes in.

Old 06-09-2010, 02:07 AM   #8

Before we go any further, which plug is in there now? BTW, even if it says NGK, it might be a clever fake. A side by side comparison will make that clear.

"I figure I'm well-prepared for coping with a bike that comes from the factory with unresolved issues and that rewards the self-reliant owner." - Buccaneer

Old 06-09-2010, 12:59 PM   #9