Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > ATVs
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-12-2012, 05:58 PM   #1

baja 90 quad wont start. spark plug is not getting wet.

i have a 90 cc baja quad. i picked it p from craigslist for $100 the other day and it wont start.

guy put a brand new battery and a brand new starter and spark plug.

i get good spark when tested, and fuel is making it into the carb when i check by draining the float bowl,

but it seems like no matter how long i crank the engine it wont turn over and the spark plug is never wet with gas when i pull it out to check.

i just took the carb off, opened it, took out the jets, and float, cleaned it all with carb cleaner, put it all together and im still not getting any gas into the engine to wet the spark plug,

i have done carb cleanings numerous times, im not a newbie. i put it all back together right after cleaning every passage way in the carb.

shouldnt the spark plug be getting wet with fuel if im not mistaken ?

why would it not be ? i could see perfect thru the jets after i cleaned them. i even blew thru all the passage ways with my air compressor.

and it still wont get fuel to the spark plug.

should i put a new carburetor or is it another issue ?

please help. dont want to start dumping money into it if the motor is bad, but im stumped why no fuel is getting past the carb into the motor to wet the spark plug..

any help would be greatly appericated. thanks

Old 02-12-2012, 06:05 PM   #2

How's the compression?

Old 02-12-2012, 07:23 PM   #3

dont have a compression testor, but i can feel alot of pressure with my finger completly over the spark plug hole.

Old 02-12-2012, 07:30 PM   #4