Go Back   ChinaRiders Forums > Technical/Performance > Dual Sport/Enduro
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-14-2018, 07:09 PM   #1

New Hawk 250 (chain issues)

Hello everyone.

I just got my new Hawk 250 today. I did the mandatory oil change and Loctite session and then rode to the gas station to fill up. When I got back home, I got off the bike and checked the chain. It was almost completely rigid/tight even with no weight on the bike. I was going to adjust it but the wheel is already in the full forward position. I also noticed that the left side of the rear tire is rubbing against the chain and is already noticeably chafed after only 2.5 miles.

Please let me know if I did something idiotic. I have never worked on a motorcycle before so don't worry about hurting my pride. Thank you in advance.

Derek

Old 08-15-2018, 02:00 AM   #2

From what you say it sounds like they put a short chain on it...

77 Montesa Cota 348 MRR "Malcom Rathnell Replica"...

Current resto projects..
81 Honda CT110...
80 Kawasaki KL250A1...

11 Husaburg TE125 enduro... "sold" along with another 31...
Lifan 125 Pitbike.. "stolen" ...

KIWI BIKER FORUM...... http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/content.php

All the best offroad rides in NZ...
http://www.remotemoto.com/

E-mail... xtpete1@gmail.com

Old 08-15-2018, 08:33 AM   #3

Agree with pete. If the chain is tight and you have the tire adjusted full forward, I'd order a new 428 chain. Go with something 130 links or longer (you can remove links to adjust). New chains will always stretch and loosen...you risk snapping the chain if it's already as tight as you describe.
1. Mikuni VM26 Carburetor w/#115 main jet
2. 17T/45T JT sprockets
3. JT 428 X-ring chain
4. Air box mod
5. Hawk Digital Cluster
6. Aftermarket IMS shift lever
7. Performance Aftermarket Exhaust
8. 295mm Nitrogen Gas Monoshock, 20W oil front forks

Old 08-15-2018, 09:05 AM   #4