ChinaRiders Forums

ChinaRiders Forums (http://www.chinariders.net/index.php)
-   Dual Sport/Enduro (http://www.chinariders.net/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Fooligan Ride | Raced a Grom | Experienced Clutch/Starting Issues (http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=16955)

_MaXiPaD_ 06-27-2016 03:26 PM

Fooligan Ride | Raced a Grom | Experienced Clutch/Starting Issues

Hello fellow China Riders. I’ve been browsing the forums for a few months now and decided it was finally time to make my first post.

Last Thursday, Fooligan / Omaha Grom Squad held their first meetup & ride. If you don’t know who they are, check out Fooligan’s channel on YouTube.
For the ride, I decided to bring my RPS Hawk 250. I figured powerwise, it’d fit right in. I ended up racing one of the Groms (Fooligan’s Murph) and it was a close race, which is what I expected. I think the Hawk would’ve pulled ahead a little bit further if I would’ve kept the revs lower in the RPM. If you want to see the short race, I added it to my YouTube video (link posted below).

Anyways, the Hawk ran great for the whole ride until the end when we entered the trails. Once we were in the trails, the clutch began giving me fits. Pulling in the clutch lever became extremely light and the clutch didn’t want to fully disengage. If I pulled the clutch lever fully in and had the bike in gear it would die on me.
The bike also began having starting issues even when I turned the lights off and put it in neutral. The combination between the clutch & starting issues became a real pain when I had to limp the Hawk back to my truck which was 30 minutes away (in the city).

I'm thinking my issues were from the engine becoming too hot since we were riding for a few hours with lots of starting & stopping. I rode the Hawk for a half hour the next day and things seemed to be running fine. However, if you guys think there’s something I should look at or adjust, please let me know.