ChinaRiders Forums

ChinaRiders Forums (http://www.chinariders.net/index.php)
-   Dual Sport/Enduro (http://www.chinariders.net/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Bike has super aggressive shakes during idle (http://www.chinariders.net/showthread.php?t=28483)

GoldenBoy1704 03-29-2021 01:50 PM

Bike has super aggressive shakes during idle

Hi everyone, I just got my new Hawk 250 to start today and whenever I start it and let it idle it shakes and vibrates. A lot. I'm new to motorcycles and dirt bikes in general so I'm not sure if this is normal or not. If it is an issue and I'm not just being nervous how should I go about fixing this? If you can, please explain it as simply as possible, my knowledge on the subject isn't very great

Thanks,
GoldenBoy

Oldenslow 03-29-2021 02:17 PM

I'm not saying there's nothing wrong with your motor -- I'd have to be there to see it for myself -- but it well may be there's nothing wrong with it. A single-cylinder engine is by its nature unbalanced, and although various mechanical features and contrivances serve to reduce vibration in some motors, usually they are going to shake at idle and buzz at speed. On the other hand, something like a 6-cylinder Honda Gold Wing can idle so smoothly you almost have to touch it to make sure it's running. There's a reason single-cylinder engines are often called "thumpers".

GoldenBoy1704 03-29-2021 05:12 PM

Its got a little bit of time before the field I'm practicing on is open so I'm just gonna assume its just my nerves getting to me
Hopefully I don't crash

Update: didn't crash after first ride, and I figured out why the engine kept going nuts. My bike acts as if I'm tugging on the throttle even when I'm not, I think I tightened something on the carb to much. Gonna adjust it and try again

tknj99 03-29-2021 06:53 PM

I'm sure its just normal idle or perhaps a slight adjustment needed.. or hmm.. maybe you got "Harley mode" enabled ;)

TxTaoRider 03-29-2021 07:18 PM

Quote: